Henderson Brothers: Rugby, VA $12.00

The only known recording of brothers Wayne and Max Henderson

Rubgy, VA was recorded in May 1995, the day after the end of the Galax Fiddlers Convention. Wayne and Max laid down 12-tracks in Wayne's home, featuring instrumental renditions of bluegrass classics such as "Tennessee Waltz," "Will The Circle Be Unbroken" and "Wayfaring Stranger."

"Wayne and Max Henderson continue the long and great tradition of brother groups," Tim Duffy says. "In this instrumental album, they weave melodies only as blood relatives can. The tracks are classic traditional mountain music from southwest Virginia."

Wayne Henderson has received acclaim as both a guitar builder and a guitar player. He has created guitars for musicians such as Eric Clapton, in addition to repairing guitars belonging to Elvis Presley and Neil Young. Wayne, who plays in a fingerpicking style, is the recipient of a 1995 National Heritage Award and has played around the world and in venues such as Carnegie Hall.

Wayne says of the album, "This is the only recording we did together. Ten years ago, Max suffered an illness that affected his memory, but he was able to make music longer than anything else. At this time he cannot play anymore."

Track Listing
1 Rocky Road Blues
2 Arkansas Traveler
3 Chicken Reel
4 Tennessee Waltz
5 When The Saints Come Marching In
6 Bury Me Beneath The Willow
7 Willow Garden
8 Black Mountain Rag
9 Banks of the Ohio
10 Cindy
11 Will the Circle Be Unbroken
12 Wayfaring Stranger

You May Also Like