Alabama Slim: Blue and Lonesome $12.00

"This IS deep blues, the kind that will take you there, right there. "Blue & Lonesome" is your ticket!" - Ardie Dean, drummer/producer

**This item is currently out of stock.

Alabama Slim was born in Vance, Alabama, but moved to New Orleans as a young man and has made the city of jazz his home ever since. He does not perform on Bourbon Street or, as of yet, any of the New Orleans Jazz & Heritage Festivals; however, he continues to hold court performing his deep blues in tiny clubs in the Lower Ninth Ward, Bywater and Treme districts of the Crescent City. His expressive voice is lonesome with the flavor of John Lee Hooker and Lightnin' Hopkins, yet distinctly his own.

After releasing Alabama Slim's first album, "The Mighty Flood," we recorded "Blue & Lonesome," our selection for the June 2010 Record Club. As producer Ardie Dean reflects about this album, "It took 5 long years, but the fellas finally came back to record again and this time they brought a few friends. The renewed spirit of New Orleans can be heard here from the city's premier bluesmen. Instead of Slim singing about 'helicopters flying overhead and babies crying,' he's now singing songs like, 'I Love My Guitar' and 'Old Folks Boogie.' Possessing the most mesmerizing voice in all of blues, Alabama Slim could single handely put a trance on any soul within earshot; but when you add the raw genius of Little Freddie King, mortals don't stand a chance! This IS deep blues, the kind that will take you there, right there. 'Blue & Lonesome' is your ticket!"

Track Listing
1 Fannie Mae
2 Someday Baby
3 Old Folks Boogie
4 Weather Done Got Cloudy
5 Ain't I Been Good to You
6 Someday You Gonna Be Cryin'
7 West Texas Blues
8 1 O'clock in the Morning
9 You Got This Ball Rollin'
10 Has Anybody Seen My Baby
11 I Love My Guitar
12 I'm Blue and Lonesome

You May Also Like