Etta Baker: Banjo $12.00

"Etta Baker was a mean banjo picker. We learned 'Peace Behind the Bridge' from her banjo playing on this record." -Rhiannon Giddens-Laffan, Carolina Chocolate Drops

Etta Baker: Banjo sheds light on the roots of the African American origins of this original American instrument. Aside from highlighting Etta’s Piedmont Blues mastery this album presents the origins of mountain music as well as the connections between string band music and the Blues.

In this album, Etta Baker performs banjo music that she learned from her father, Boone Reid. With rare banjo recordings of Reid and special guests Cora Philips, Wayne Martin and David Holt, Etta presents the earliest musical traditions of her family.

Track Listing
1 Playing the Banjo
2 Peace Behind the Bridge
3 Cripple Creek
4 Going Down the Road Feelin' Bad
5 Daddy
6 West End Blues
7 Sourwood Mountain
8 Going Down the Road Feelin' Bad (2)
9 Careless Love
10 Old Joe Clark
11 Love Somebody
12 Johnson Boys
13 Careless Love (2)
14 Walking Jailbird
15 Rainbow
16 Railroad Bill
17 Marching Jailbird
18 Going Down the Road Feelin' Bad (3)
19 John Henry
20 Cripple Creek (2)
21 Johnson Boys (2)
22 Sourwood Mountain (2)
23 Johnson Boys (3)

You May Also Like