Carolina Chocolate Drops: Live! with Joe Thompson

"In his own low-key way, Captain Luke Mayer is one of the most versatile and entertaining 'discoveries' that Music Maker has documented for quote a while. Let's hope this disc provides him with the wider exposure he deserves." -David Whiteis, Living Blues

This album features 90-year-old Thompson, revered African-American old-time fiddler, with his celebrated 21st-century proteges the Carolina Chocolate Drops: Rhiannon Giddens, Justin Robinson and Dom Flemons with guests Sule Greg Wilson and banjo Renaissance man Bob Carlin. Recorded Live at Merlefest in April 2008. Includes favorites like "Georgia Buck," "I Shall Not Be Moved," and "Old Corn Liquor," nine in all.

"CCD and Joe Thompson is a spirited and fun recording. The value of this live recording is enhanced by making available a sample of Joe Thompson performing with friends, doing tunes he has performed for decades, now in front of a highly appreciative audience." -In a Blue Mood

Track Listing
1 Memphis Shakedown
2 Cornbread and Butter Beans
3 Dona Got a Ramblin' Mind
4 John Henry
5 Ole Joe Clark
6 Georgia Buck
7 I Shall Not Be Moved
8 Old Corn Liquor
9 Goin' Down the Road Feeling Bad

You May Also Like